U35 Reading Coming September 9

U35_LogoYou won’t want to miss our September installment!

September 9, 7 p.m.
The Marliave in Boston

Jessica Fjeld, Josh Cook, and Lauren McCormick

Get the details & connect through our Facebook event.

 

jessica_fjeld (1)Jessica Fjeld

from “THE SHORTEST DISTANCE THAT CAN BE FALLEN”

 

Any piece of paper now could be the incomprehensible
prayer I was given, and asked to fold smaller

 

I couldn’t make it smaller We were driving north
Asked to save one, I could be asked

 

to render judgment on another
When it’s live-and-let-live I say make conversation

 

joshcookimage (1)Josh Cook


from “The Artistic Life in Battle for the Hearts and Minds of the People”

The artistic life died in a medical tent;
Civil War. When young Walt Whitman clasped a palm meant
for the Reaper. A soldier for Union and slave
had been shot, had been pierced, had been torn, had been rent,
and should die. And the dark. He will end. In the grave.
There were words for young Walt, who could begin to reign,
as if words had the moxie for ending the reign
of our war. As Walt Whitman was catching his breath,
with shut eyes and ears shut and hands clasped in joint pain,
he prepared to rewrite our new beautiful death.
The soldier pulled through.

 

l._mccormick_pictureLauren McCormick

from “Flat Pick”

Tonight your jam

filled my head, crossed

this dingy bar, targeted

me. Tonight

fickle, not me—

like a fruit fly

there’s only your

damaged, rotten spots

I see.

Poets Who Write Prose: Jade Sylvan

“If you’d asked when I was twenty-five if I thought I’d ever write a memoir, I would have said absolutely not. Memoir, as far as I saw it, was masturbation. Poetry and fiction held real truth. I didn’t see any value at all in this type of navel-gazing. Who would want to read about me?”

Read more, and be sure to catch the other posts in the Poets Who Write Prose series.